Self-Governance Communication & Education Tribal Consortium

SGAC Membership

The DOI Self-Governance Advisory Committee (SGAC) membership consists of a Primary and an Alternate representative from each of the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) regions that have Self-Governance Tribes.  The Primary and Alternate SGAC members from each region also select two persons to serve as Official Members of the SGAC Technical Workgroup. Below is a listing of the current SGAC and Technical Workgroup members.


Primary:  Robert Keith,

Alternate:  William Micklin, 3rd Vice President, Central Council Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska

Technical Representatives:

Bruce Baltar, Bristol Bay Native Association

John Bioff, Kawerak, Inc.


Primary:  Cheryl Andrews-Maltais, Chairwoman, Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head (Aquinnah)

Alternate:  Chief Marilynn “Lynn” Malerba, Mohegan Tribe of Connecticut

Technical Representative:

Kitcki Carroll, Executive Director, United South and Eastern Tribes, Inc.


Primary:  Karen Ketcher, proxy for Bill John Baker, Principal Chief, Cherokee Nation

Alternate:  Principal Chief James R. Floyd, Muscogee (Creek) Nation (proxy: Terra Branson)

Technical Representatives:

Cliff Powell, Director of Finance, Cherokee Nation

        Amanda Swope, Muscogee (Creek) Nation


Primary: Annette Johnson, Treasurer, Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians

Alternate: Jane Rohl, Tribal Council Secretary, Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa & Chippewa Indians

Technical Representatives:

Dave Conner, Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians

Candice Skenandore, Self-Governance Director, Oneida Nation


Primary:  W. Ron Allen, Tribal Chairman/CEO, Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe, SGAC Chairman

Alternate:  Tyson Johnston, Vice President, Quinault Indian Nation

Technical Representatives:

Jennifer McLaughlin, Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe, Tribal Technical Workgroup Co-Chair

Danielle Dan, Policy Coordinator, Quinault Indian Nation


Primary: Ryan Jackson, Chairman, Hoopa Valley Tribe

Alternate: Denise Richards-Padgette, Chairperson, Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation

Technical Representatives:

Briannon Fraley, Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation

        John E. Robbins Jr., Hoopa Valley Tribe


Primary: Michael Corcoran, Tribal Business Committee Member, Chippewa Cree Tribe

Technical Representative:

Dustin Whitford, Self-Governance Coordinator, Chippewa Cree Tribe


Primary: John Barrett, Jr., Chairman, Citizen Potawatomi Nation (proxy: Kasie Nichols)

Alternate:  Kay Rhoads, Principal Chief, Sac and Fox Nation

Technical Representatives:

Jeremy Arnette, Citizen Potawatomi Nation


Primary: Governor Richard Aspenwind, Taos Pueblo (proxy: Shawn Duran, SGAC Vice Chairwoman )

Alternate: E. Michael Silvas, Governor, Ysleta del Sur Pueblo

Technical Representative:

Linda Austin, Ysleta del Sur Pueblo

        Ian Chisholm, Taos Pueblo


Primary:  Delia M. Carlyle, Councilmember, Ak-Chin Indian Community

Alternate:  Joey Whitman, Councilman, Gila River Indian Community

Technical Representatives:

Heather Washington, Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community

Karen Fierro, Self-Governance Director, Ak-Chin Indian Community

Vacancy in your region?

Self-Governance Tribes in each region establish a process to nominate two Tribal representatives to serve on the SGAC (the BIA Regional Director may help facilitate the nomination process if the Tribes prefer).  Nominations to the committee should be mailed to the Chairperson of SGAC c/0 Office of Self-Governance Communication & Education and copied to the Director of the Office of Self-Governance and at the addresses below.

A sample nomination letter can be downloaded below.

Sample Nomination Letter

Self-Governance Communication & Education

PO Box 1734

McAlester, OK 74502

The Office of Self-Governance

U.S. Department of the Interior

1951 Constitution Avenue, NW


Washington, DC 20240