Self-Governance Communication & Education Tribal Consortium

TSGAC Membership

The IHS Tribal Self-Governance Advisory Committee (TSGAC) membership consists of a Primary and an Alternate representative from each of the IHS Areas that have Self-Governance Tribes. The Primary and Alternate SGAC members from each region also select two persons to serve as Official Members of the TSGAC Technical Workgroup. Below is a listing of the current TSGAC and Technical Workgroup members.


Primary:  Jaylene Peterson-Nyren, Executive Director, Kenaitze Indian Tribe

Alternate:  Gerald “Jerry” Moses, Senior Director, Intergovernmental Affairs, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

Technical Representatives:

Brandon Biddle, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

Alberta Unok, Alaska Native Health Board


Primary:  Ruben A. Romero, Governor, Taos Pueblo

Alternate:  Raymond Loretto, DVM, Governor, Pueblo of Jemez

Technical Representatives:

Shawn Duran, Taos Pueblo


Primary: Jane Rohl, Tribal Council Secretary, Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa & Chippewa Indians

Alternate: VACANT

Technical Representatives:

John Mojica, Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe


Primary:  Beau Mitchell, Council Member, Chippewa Cree Tribe

Alternate:  Shelly Fyant, Tribal Council Member, The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Nation

Technical Representatives:

Ed Parisian, Chippewa Cree Tribe


Primary:  Ryan Jackson, Chairman, Hoopa Valley Tribe

Alternate:  Robert Smith, Chairman, Pala Band of Mission Indians

Technical Representative:



Primary:  VACANT

Alternate:  VACANT

Technical Representative:



Primary:  Marilynn “Lynn” Malerba, Chief, Mohegan Tribe of Connecticut, TSGAC Chairwoman

Alternate:  Casey Cooper, Chief Executive Officer, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians Hospital

Technical Representative:

Dee Sabattus, United South and Eastern Tribes, Inc.

Hillary Andrews, United South and Eastern Tribes, Inc.


Primary:  Jonathan Nez, Vice President, Navajo Nation

Alternate:  Nathaniel Brown, Honorable Delegate of the 23rd Navajo Nation Council

Technical Representative:

Patrese Atine, Navajo Nation Washington Office


Primary:  Rhonda Butcher proxy for John Barrett, Jr., Chairman, Citizen Potawatomi Nation

Alternate:  Kay Rhoads, Principle Chief, Sac and Fox Nation

Technical Representative:

Kasie Nichols, Citizen Band of Potawatomi Nation


Primary:  Jefferson Keel, Lt. Governor, Chickasaw Nation

Alternate:  Mickey Peercy proxy for Gary Batton, Chief, Choctaw Nation

Technical Representative:

Melanie Fourkiller, Choctaw Nation, Tribal Technical Workgroup Co-Chair

Rhonda Farrimond, Choctaw Nation

Karen Ketcher, Cherokee Nation


Primary: Lindsey Manning, Chairman, Shoshone-Paiute Tribes of the Duck Valley Indian Reservation

Alternate: VACANT

Technical Representative:



Primary:  W. Ron Allen, Tribal Chairman/CEO, Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe, TSGAC Vice-Chairman

Alternate:  Tyson Johnston, Vice President, Quinault Indian Nation

Technical Representatives:

Jennifer McLaughlin, Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe

Eugena R. Hobucket, Quinault Indian Nation


Primary:  Daniel L.A. Preston III, Councilman, Tohono O’odham Nation

Alternate:  Anthony J. Francisco Jr., Councilman, Tohono O’odham Nation

Technical Representatives:

Veronica Geronimo, Acting Executive Director, Department of Health and Human Services, Tohono O’odham Nation

Vacancy in your area?

Self-Governance Tribes in each area establish a process to nominate two Tribal representatives to serve on the TSGAC.  Nominations to the committee should be mailed to the Chairperson of TSGAC c/0 Office of Self-Governance Communication & Education and copied to the Director of the Office of Tribal Self-Governance and at the addresses below.

A sample nomination letter can be downloaded below.

Sample Nomination Letter