Self-Governance Communication & Education Tribal Consortium

SGAC Members

The DOI SGAC membership consists of a Primary and an Alternate representative from each of the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) regions that have Self-Governance Tribes.  The Primary and Alternate SGAC members from each region also select two persons to serve as official members of the SGAC Technical Work Group. Below is a listing of the current SGAC members.


Primary: Robert Keith
Alternate: Will Micklin, 3rd Vice President, Central Council Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska
Technical Representative: Bruce Baltar, Bristol Bay Native Association
Technical Representative: John Bioff, Kawerak, Inc.


Primary: Cheryl Andrews-Maltais, Chairwoman, Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head (Aquinnah)
Alternate: Chief Marilynn “Lynn” Malerba, Mohegan Tribe of Connecticut
Technical Representative:
Technical Representative: Kitcki Carroll, Executive Director, United South and Eastern Tribes, Inc.

Eastern Oklahoma

Primary: Principal Chief Bill John Baker, Cherokee Nation (proxy: Karen Ketcher)
Alternate: James R. Floyd, Principal Chief, Muscogee (Creek) Nation (Proxy: Terra Branson) (SGAC confirmation: January 2018)
Technical Representative: Cliff Powell, Director of Finance, Cherokee Nation
Technical Representative: Amanda Swope, Muscogee (Creek) Nation


Primary: Annette Johnson, Treasurer, Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians
Alternate: Jane Rohl, Tribal Council Secretary, Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa & Chippewa Indians (SGAC confirmation: July 2017)
Technical Representative: Dave Conner, Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians
Technical Representative: Candice Skenandore, Self-Governance Director, Oneida Nation


Primary: W. Ron Allen, Tribal Chairman/CEO, Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe, SGAC Chairman
Alternate: Tyson Johnston, Vice President, Quinault Indian Nation
Technical Representative: Jennifer McLaughlin, Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe, Tribal Technical Workgroup Co-Chair
Technical Representative: Danielle Dan, Policy Coordinator, Quinault Indian Nation


Primary: Byron Nelson, Jr., Chairman, Hoopa Valley Tribe
Alternate: Denise Richards-Padgette, Chairperson, Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation (SGAC confirmation: July 2018)
Technical Representative: Briannon Fraley, Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation
Technical Representative: John E. Robbins Jr., Hoopa Valley Tribe

Rocky Mountain

Primary: Michael Corcoran, Tribal Business Committee Member, Chippewa Cree Tribe
Technical Representative: Dustin Whitford, Self-Governance Coordinator, Chippewa Cree Tribe

Southern Plains

Primary: John Barrett, Jr., Chairman, Citizen Potawatomi Nation (proxy: Kasie Nichols)
Alternate: Jacklyn K. King, Secretary, Sac and Fox Nation (SGAC confirmation: July 2019)
Technical Representative: Jeremy Arnette, Citizen Potawatomi Nation
Technical Representative: Sac and Fox Nation


Primary: Governor Richard Aspenwind, Taos Pueblo (proxy: Shawn Duran, SGAC Vice Chairwoman )
Alternate: E. Michael Silvas, Governor, Ysleta del Sur Pueblo (SGAC confirmation: January 2018) (proxy: Lt. Gov Adam Torres or Linda Austin)
Technical Representative: Linda Austin, Ysleta del Sur Pueblo
Technical Representative: Ian Chisholm, Taos Pueblo


Primary: Delia M. Carlyle, Councilmember, Ak-Chin Indian Community
Technical Representative: Karen Fierro, Self-Governance Coordinator, Ak-Chin Indian Community
Technical Representative: Heather Washington, Assistant Self-Governance Coordinator, Salt-River Pima Maricopa Indian Community