



Share

Secretary's Tribal Advisory Committee

"Tribes need a seat at the decision-making table before policies are made that impact their communities. The creation of this new Advisory Committee is a timely and much-needed development that will ensure Tribal leaders can engage at the highest levels of the Department on the issues that matter most to their people."

- Secretary Deb Haaland

For far too long, Tribal leaders have lived with decisions made by the Department of the Interior and federal agencies without having an opportunity to share their concerns or the needs of their communities. As the Department continues to renew its commitment to honor and strengthen the nation-to-nation relationship and empower Tribal Nations, leaders need to be at the decision-making table and have a voice in programs and policies that will have an impact on their people.

During the 2021 White House Tribal Nations Summit, Secretary Deb Haaland announced the formation of the Department's first-ever Secretary's Tribal Advisory Committee (STAC). The STAC will ensure Tribal leaders have direct and consistent contact and communication with the current and future Department officials to facilitate robust discussions on intergovernmental responsibilities, exchange views, share information and provide advice and recommendations regarding Departmental programs and funding that impact Tribal Nations.

This comes as the Department is collaborating with Tribal leaders on implementing President Biden's Bipartisan Infrastructure Law and working to address some of the most urgent issues facing Indigenous communities, including the disproportionate impact of the climate crisis. This important move will further strengthen the Department's federal trust relationship with federally recognized American Indian and Alaska Native Tribes and their leadership.

The STAC is composed of a primary Tribal representative from each of the 12 Bureau of Indian Affairs Regions (BIA), and one alternate member from each region. The members are appointed on a staggered term for up to two years. The Secretary, in consultation with the Assistant Secretary for Indian Affairs, will designate one member of the STAC to serve as chairperson.

Current 2023 STAC Tribal Members are listed below by BIA Region.

Alaska Region

- Primary member: Robert Keith; President, Native Village of Elim
- Alternate member: Gayla Hoseth; Second Tribal Chief for the Curyung Tribal Council

Eastern Region

• Primary member: Stephanie Bryan; Tribal Chair, Poarch Creek Indians Nation

Eastern Oklahoma Region

- Primary member: Gary Batton; Chief, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma
- Alternate member: Del Beaver; Second Chief, Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Great Plains Region

• Primary member: Cora White Horse; Councilwoman, Oglala Sioux Tribe

• Alternate member: Janet Alkire; Chairwoman, Standing Rock Sioux

Midwest Region

- Primary member: Whitney Gravelle; President, Bay Mills Indian Community (STAC Chair)
- Alternate member: Michelle Beaudin; Councilwoman, Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin

Navajo Region

- Primary member: Buu Nygren; President, Navajo Nation
- Alternate member: Crystalyne Curley; Speaker, Navajo Nation

Northwest Region

- Primary member: Kat Brigham; Chair of the Board of Trustees, Confederated Tribes of Umatilla Indian Reservation
- Alternate member: Timothy Greene; Chairman, Makah Tribe

Pacific Region

- Primary member: Erica Pinto; Chairwoman, Jamul Indian Village of California
- Alternate member: Reid Milanovich; Chairman, Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians

Rocky Mountain Region

• Primary member: Jody LaMere; Councilwoman, Chippewa Cree Tribe of the Rocky Boy's Reservation

Southern Plains Region

• Primary member: Reggie Wassana; Governor, Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma

• Alternate member: Walter Echo-Hawk; President, Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma

Southwest Region

- Primary member: Mark Mitchell; APCG Chairman, Pueblo of Tesuque
- Alternate member: Christopher Moquino; Governor, Pueblo de San Ildefonso

Western Region

• Primary member: Terry Rambler; Chairman, San Carlos Apache Tribe

Resources:

RELEASE: Department of the Interior to Solicit Nominations for First-Ever Secretary's Tribal Advisory

Committee

Secretary Haaland Announces Members of the First-Ever Secretary's Tribal Advisory Committee

Was this page helpful?

○ Yes

 \bigcirc No

SUBMIT