The Self-Governance Communication and Education Tribal Consortium (SGCETC) Board of Directors is comprised of Tribal leaders representing ten diverse and unique Tribal nations that support the inherent right of each Tribal nation to exercise its powers of self-rule. Each of the Tribal nations represented on the SGCETC Board of Directors elected to use Self-Governance authorities to assume control and administration over the Federal programs that serve their citizens and communities.

Board of Directors

W. Ron Allen, Tribal Chairman/CEO, Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe

President, Board of Directors

Melanie Fourkiller, Director of Self-Governance, Choctaw Nation

Treasurer, Board of Directors

Jacklyn King, Secretary, Sac and Fox Nation

Secretary, Board of Directors

Delia Carlyle, Council Member, Ak-Chin Indian Community


Danny Jordan, Self-Governance Coordinator and Director of Commerce, Hoopa Valley Tribe


Kathy Pierre, Treasurer, Lummi Nation


John Mojica, Self-Governance Coordinator, Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe


Dawneen DeLaCruz, Councilwoman, Quinault Nation


Cheryl Andrews-Maltais, Chairwoman, Wampanoag Tribe of Gayhead (Aquinnah)



Thursday, August 4

Download Day 4 Agenda


Wednesday, August 3

Download Day 3 Agenda Here


Tuesday, August 2

Download Day 2 Agenda

7:30 am
Registration (Location: Sequoia)

9:00 am
Posting of Colors (Location: Grand Peninsula Ballroom)

9:05 am
Welcome & Opening Prayer

9:10 am
Time of Reflection

9:25 am
Welcome & Opening Message from SGCETC Board of Directors 

9:30 am
Welcome from Tribal Nations within California and Discussion of Hot  Topics

10:15 am
Discussion with Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs Bryan Newland

10:30 am

10:45 am
Establishing the Bay Area American Indian Cultural District

11:00 am
COVID Update and Indian Health Service Initiatives to Improve Health and Wellbeing

11:30 am
International Decade (2022 – 2032) of Indigenous Language Preservation

11:45 am
Lunch Break

1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Breakout Sessions

 2:00 pm – 2:15 pm
Networking Break

2:15 pm – 3:30 pm
Breakout Sessions

3:30 pm- 3:45 pm

3:45 pm
Threats to Tribal Sovereignty: Protecting the Indian Child Welfare Act

(Location: Grand Peninsula Ballroom)

4:05 pm
Self-Governance Updates from DOI, IHS, and DOT

4:45 pm
Tiwahe Initiative – Federal Updates


Additional Meetings and Activities

11:30 am – 5:00 pm
DOI SGDB Training Room (Sand Pebble D)

11:30 am – 5:00 pm
Individual Meetings with OSG Staff- Open (Board Rooms 3 & 4)

6:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Tribal Caucus for the Food Distribution Program for Indian Reservations Consultation Meeting (Cypress A)