Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Justice Reimagined: Healing Communities and Improving Outcomes through Joint Jurisdiction

August 5 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm EDT

Justice Reimagined: Healing Communities and Improving Outcomes through Joint Jurisdiction

Thursday, August 5, 2021

12:00pm PT | 1:00pm MT | 2:00pm CT | 3:00pm ET

 

Tribal-State Court Collaborations

Tribal, state, federal and local courts operate in a patchwork of overlapping jurisdictions, facing common challenges and limited resources. To address these concerns, a growing number of courts have come together in a joint jurisdictional model that acknowledges each other’s autonomy, while sharing resources for better outcomes for everyone. During this webinar, the authors of TLPI’s soon-to-be released Joint Jurisdiction Courts: Needs Assessment Report will tell the story of these joint jurisdiction courts, share lessons learned, and make recommendations for other jurisdictions considering a collaborative approach to heal their own communities and improve outcomes for the people they serve.

Presented by:

Hon. Korey Wahwassuck, Judge, Itasca County District Court and Consultant, Tribal Law and Policy Institute

Jenny Walter, Partner, Hedger & Water, LLC and Consultant, Tribal Law and Policy Institute

Details

Date:
August 5
Time:
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm EDT
View Event Website

Venue

Virtual

Welcome to our new site!

We are still uploading information and refining/adding pages, but you are welcome to start exploring the Phase I release of the new tribalselfgov.org site. A number of  new features are available, including: a Self-Governance document library, new advisory committee pages, a Self-Governance map project, a timeline of key milestones in the history of Self-Governance and more.

Thank you!

– SGCETC