Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Mobilizing for Project Proposals: Tribal Forest Protection Act and 638 Mini-Workshop Series–Project approval and NEPA compliance / Identifying agreement and contracting mechanisms that best suit the project

June 2 @ 9:00 am PDT

The 2021 Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act allocated an unprecedented $8 million of funding to Forest Service (FS) for Tribal Forest Protection Act (TFPA) fuels reduction work between 2022 and 2026. As well up to $160M to be available to Tribes and states for ecosystem restoration projects through Good Neighbor and TFPA projects through the Secretary of Agriculture. Tribes and their FS partners ready to mobilize on projects under this funding will be better equipped to access these opportunities.

As a result, the Intertribal Timber Council (ITC) and the Forest Service (FS) are co-hosting a series of mini-workshops designed to support Tribes and FS partners in preparing TFPA and USDA FS 638 projects for these funding opportunities. Each of these sessions will focus on varying steps associated with developing collaborative projects between FS and Tribes, using TFPA as a model. Participants can come to one or all of the sessions. Each session will be supported by Tribal and FS staff with experience developing and working on TFPA and 638 projects.

These sessions are intended for Tribal and Forest partnerships with approved project proposals, seeking to enter into 638 agreements for TFPA projects, or already working on TFPA project proposals. These sessions will offer an opportunity to talk through your projects, address lingering questions and connect with additional resources to get your projects ready to implement under the upcoming funding. If you are new to TFPA or do not have a Tribal or FS partner, we have an introductory session to help answer your questions.

Workshops will run from:

8 am – 9:30am AKT

9 am-10:30am PT

10 am-11:30am MT

11 am-12:30pm CT

12 pm-1:30pm ET

May 26, June 1, June 2, June 7, June 8, June 9, and June 15, 2022.

Each session will have subject matter experts available to discuss different elements of the TFPA and 638 processes. Participants are encouraged to join sessions with specific questions, considerations, or ideas to discuss with subject matter experts in order to move their TFPA projects forward. Please reach out to the project facilitator if you have questions.

You will need to register for each date you wish to attend.

Details

Date:
June 2
Time:
9:00 am PDT