Tribal Self-Governance Virtual Conference: September 14 - 16, 2021
Loading Events

« All Events

Tribal-State Collaboration Panel

August 16 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm EDT

Monday, August 16, 2021

10:00am PT | 11:00am MT | 12:00pm CT | 1:00pm ET

Tribal-State Collaboration Panel

Tribal and state courts interact across many issues, including child welfare, enforcement of court orders, and civil commitments. Courts are a key arena for interaction and have great potential for collaboration. Unfortunately, Tribal and state courts can disagree on jurisdictional issues and that can interfere with addressing issues of great importance to both jurisdictions. Difficult historical realities exist in some states that create a wedge that takes hard work to mend; but with collaboration comes the trust building that ultimately increases safety and justice in Indian country. Through tribal-state court forums, judges and court personnel have a venue for gathering together to foster relationships, discuss areas of mutual concern, develop legislative initiatives, and find a common ground. There are 13 known tribal-state court forums in the United States. This webinar will include a panel of forum members from: California, Michigan, Minnesota and New York, who will discuss the accomplishments and challenges when working in these unique and promising collaborations.

 

Panelists:

Hon. Abby Abinanti, Chief Judge, Yurok Tribal Court

Hon. Carrie Garrow, Chief Judge, Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Court

Hon. Michael Petoskey, Chief Judge, Pokagon Band of Potawatomi

Hon. Korey Wahwassuck, Itasca County District Court Judge

 

Moderator: Hon. Bill Thorne

Details

Date:
August 16
Time:
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm EDT
View Event Website

Venue

Virtual

Welcome to our new site!

We are still uploading information and refining/adding pages, but you are welcome to start exploring the Phase I release of the new tribalselfgov.org site. A number of  new features are available, including: a Self-Governance document library, new advisory committee pages, a Self-Governance map project, a timeline of key milestones in the history of Self-Governance and more.

Thank you!

– SGCETC