Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Tribal Healing to Wellness Courts: Intergovernmental Collaboration

July 16, 2021 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm EDT

Friday, July 16, 2021

11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET

Tribal-State Collaboration in Drug Courts

This webinar will explore ways in which tribes have experimented with their neighbors and strategies for building collaborative infrastructures, as discussed in a new TLPI publication – Tribal Healing to Wellness Courts: Intergovernmental Collaboration. The maze of jurisdiction often means that tribes are with limited authority to meaningfully serve their communities. But in partnership, tribal and state jurisdictions can leverage their resources, ensure holistic case planning, and provide restorative accountability. The Healing to Wellness Court, an intentional deviation from the compartmentalized, adversarial, offense-centric approach, provides an apt opportunity for innovation in collaboration. Needs like housing, social services, vocational training, child care, physical and mental health treatment, can be addressed by both jurisdictions. Court can negotiate supervision, defense counsel, conditions of probation, and other legal motivations.

Presented by:

Lauren van Schilfgaarde, Director, Tribal Legal Development Clinic, UCLA School of Law

Details

Date:
July 16, 2021
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm EDT
Website:
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_2q1M5rrURiaCGF8I_rpE_w

Venue

Virtual

Agenda

Thursday, August 4

Download Day 4 Agenda

Agenda

Wednesday, August 3

Download Day 3 Agenda Here

Agenda

Tuesday, August 2

Download Day 2 Agenda

7:30 am
Registration (Location: Sequoia)

9:00 am
Posting of Colors (Location: Grand Peninsula Ballroom)

9:05 am
Welcome & Opening Prayer

9:10 am
Time of Reflection

9:25 am
Welcome & Opening Message from SGCETC Board of Directors 

9:30 am
Welcome from Tribal Nations within California and Discussion of Hot  Topics

10:15 am
Discussion with Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs Bryan Newland

10:30 am
Break

10:45 am
Establishing the Bay Area American Indian Cultural District

11:00 am
COVID Update and Indian Health Service Initiatives to Improve Health and Wellbeing

11:30 am
International Decade (2022 – 2032) of Indigenous Language Preservation

11:45 am
Lunch Break

1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Breakout Sessions

 2:00 pm – 2:15 pm
Networking Break

2:15 pm – 3:30 pm
Breakout Sessions

3:30 pm- 3:45 pm
Break

3:45 pm
Threats to Tribal Sovereignty: Protecting the Indian Child Welfare Act

(Location: Grand Peninsula Ballroom)

4:05 pm
Self-Governance Updates from DOI, IHS, and DOT

4:45 pm
Tiwahe Initiative – Federal Updates

 

Additional Meetings and Activities

11:30 am – 5:00 pm
DOI SGDB Training Room (Sand Pebble D)

11:30 am – 5:00 pm
Individual Meetings with OSG Staff- Open (Board Rooms 3 & 4)

6:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Tribal Caucus for the Food Distribution Program for Indian Reservations Consultation Meeting (Cypress A)